Welcome to the forum, Guest

• Page:

TOPIC: Installing Headless server on Raspberry pi 3?

Installing Headless server on Raspberry pi 3? 8 years 1 week ago #2259

middle_pickup

Expert Boarder

Thank you received: 2

Hello! I have a Raspi 3 that I would like to create a YAC server with. How do I do this? I am a total linux noob, and I have never done anything like this before. Please help!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Installing Headless server on Raspberry pi 3? 8 years 1 week ago #2260

selmf

Developer

Thank you received: 135

Hi Drummond,

no noob-friendly process yet. Linux deployment is mostly taken care of by me, but I'm currently suffering from a serious lack of time amd the standalone server still needs a few tweeks before I can roll it out as a Linux package (I need to make sure there are no conflicts with YACReaderLibrary since it does share quite a few files with it which turns into a problem in the packaging process).
As soon I get around doing it and provided there are no major blockers there will be a PKGBUILD for Archlinux and probably a Debian source package you can use.
My answers are not necessarily official YACReader statements but mostly represent my own opinion in technical matters.

Installing Headless server on Raspberry pi 3? 8 years 1 week ago #2262

middle_pickup

Expert Boarder

Interesting. So just to clarify, will the YAC server allow you to stream any of your library's comics to your ios device over a network-wifi or LTE?

Installing Headless server on Raspberry pi 3? 8 years 1 week ago #2263

selmf

Developer

It is intended to stream you comics in a local network, just like the internal server (same codebase) in YACReaderLibrary. Many users do use it to stream via internet, but I discourage that as it's a possible security risk. If you want it via LTE you should use a VPN tunnel to your home network as a precaution :)