Welcome to the forum, Guest

TOPIC: Cover on right in spread view?

Cover on right in spread view? 3 years 11 months ago #5158

mattg

Fresh Boarder

Hi,

I'm just getting into .cbz, after ~7 years publishing fixed-layout EPUBs through the Apple Books platform, and was wondering about the spread view in YACR (and other .cbz readers?) - I only have the Mac version so far, but when I set it to 2-up / spreads view, it puts the cover on the left, and then pulls all the pages out of order through the rest of the book. Traditionally you'd start with the front cover on the right, inside front on the left etc.

Is this a bug / YACR design decision / universal way all cbz readers function, or is there a workaround / setting I can use to configure the first page as "right" in spreads? I thought about putting a blank page in as the first page, but that would then become the icon in the library app, I presume?

Apologies if this is the wrong topic thread etc.

Thanks.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Cover on right in spread view? 3 years 11 months ago #5159

Luis Ángel

Administrator

Thank you received: 543

Hi,

this is something it needs a setting to control the behaviour. What's the layout of a digital comic file? Well, there is not single answer to this question. Sometimes showing the cover alone is the right behaviour other times it is not.

There is an issue opened in github about it. I'll add a setting in the future.
Contribute to the project becoming a patron: www.patreon.com/yacreader
You can also donate via Pay-Pal: www.paypal.com/donate?business=5TAMNQCDD...e=Support+YACReader\
The following user(s) said Thank You: mattg

Cover on right in spread view? 3 years 11 months ago #5160

selmf

Developer

Thank you received: 135

A comic book is just a regular zip, rar, 7z or tar archive with a bunch of pictures in it. A comic book reader is just an image viewer for compressed archives. That is the gist of it.